Blue Earth
Glazer's Camera

Four Brooks Students Take Eight Awards in College Photographer of the Year Competition


Four Brooks Institute Visual Journalism program students — Daryl Peveto, Brett Ziegler, Afton Almaraz and Ellen Webber — took home a total of eight awards in the 2008 College Photographer of the Year (CPOY) competition.

Peveto, a graduate student who was also a 2006 and 2007 CPOY winner, won a Silver and a Gold award, as well as an Award of Excellence, in this year's competition. Almaraz received a Gold and two Awards of Excellence. Ziegler and Webber both received Awards of Excellence.

Now in its 63rd year, the CPOY competition is held annually at the University of Missouri-Columbia. This year, 566 student photographers from 121 universities in 13 countries submitted more than 13,000 still images and 169 multimedia projects.