Blue Earth
Glazer's Camera

ICP Names 2006 Infinity Award Winners


The International Center of Photography recently announced the winners of its 2006 Infinity Awards. Don McCullin, a photojournalist who spent nearly 20 years as a correspondent for London's Sunday Times Magazine, was the recipient of the Cornell Capa Award, named for ICP's founding director. The organization's Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon Lee Friedlander.

Also honored were Dutch photographer Ahmet Polat, as the year's Young Photographer; German Thomas Ruff, in the Art category; Time magazine's Yuri Kozyrev, for Photojournalism; and Steven Meisel, for Applied/Fashion/Advertising. Geoff Dyer's photography criticism was recognized in the writing category, and the Amsterdam-based World Press Photo's retrospective of the organization's 50-year involvement in photojournalism, "As They Are: Photojournalism in Context Since 1955," also was recognized.