Blue Earth
Glazer's Camera

David Richard Metz, Joseph Elbert Wins Sprague Awards


David Richard Metz, director of professional products at Canon USA, is one of two recipients of the 2003 Joseph A. Sprague Lifetime Achievement Award for Photojournalism, presented during the 58th annual National Press Photographers Association convention in Chicago. Joseph Elbert, assistant managing photo editor at The Washington Post, also was honored with the award for his contribution to photojournalism.

Established in 1949, the Sprague Award was named in honor of the press technical representative for Graflex, who is credited with the design of Big Bertha, Magic Eye and Combat Camera, as well as refinements to the Speed Graphic. Each year, the award is presented to a working photojournalist, as well as an individual who has made considerable contributions to the field of photojournalism. Previous recipients include William Randolph Hearst, Alfred Eisenstaedt, Eddie Adams, Cornell Capa and Marion Post Wolcott.